top of page
       Cool People Playing Strange Music

Cool People Playing Strange Music

Cool People Strange Music is a play on words that questions what is considered ‘cool’ and ‘strange’ in contemporary music. The programme introduces listeners to everything ‘strange’ music has to offer: from lack of melody and dissonant harmonies to sonoristic experiments that may seem unfamiliar and unpleasant to the ear – an arsenal made ‘cool’ by the ensemble’s characteristic drive and impressive performance. Pieces composed by Yann Robin, Silvain Marty, Panayiotis Kokoras, Brigitta Muntendorf and Regis Campo are united by great structure and the best of unconventional sound production techniques, taking the audience on a multi-layered auditory experience.

KMN CoolPeoplePlayStrangeMusic147.jpg


Régis Campo (France): Pop – Art (2002)
Panayiotis Kokoras (Greece/USA): Crama (2006)

Brigita Muntendorf (Germany): Shivers on Speed (2013)
Yann Robin (France): Ftera (2014)
Sylvain Marty (France): Lithuanian Rotation (2016)


Vytenis Gurstis (flute)
Artūras Kažimėkas (clarinet)
Diemantė Merkevičiūtė (violin)
Monika Kiknadzė (viola)
Gunda Baranauskaitė (cello)
Marta Finkelštein (piano)
Karolis Variakojis (conductor)

bottom of page