top of page




Juta Pranulytė - MOM

Agnė Matulevičiūtė - Nimfonija ,,NIMFŲ SODAS''

Monika Sokaitė - Lost in longings for lust


Diemantė Merkevičiūtė (violin)
Monika Kiknadzė (viola)
Marta Finkelštein (piano)


One of the many meanings of the word ‘nymph’ is a woman of a suitable age for marriage. This is the age at which composers Monika Sokaitė, Juta Pranulytė, Agnė Matulevičiutė and performers Diemantė Merkevičiūtė, Monika Kiknadzė, and Marta Finkelštein embarked on a creative collaboration the focus of which is the study of women in music. The works presented to the audience reflect a wide range of topics: from the representation of women’s lust and image to a life-building relationship with a mother. The main aim of this project is to expand room for an open discussion about gender in music as well as to complement the creative representation of women in the context of international festivals and the repertoire of the ensemble “Synaesthesis”.

Note! When a well-known musician in Lithuania was asked why there are no female works in his curated programme, he replied: “I’m not looking for a wife, am I?” We want to assure you that even though this concert consists of pieces created by women, its aim is not related to the search of a spouse.

bottom of page